
Chargie Alternatives and Competitors (2026)
Posted on |
Home › Comparisons › Chargie Alternatives and Competitors
By Mohamed Zaki · Researched and updated October 28, 2026 · Coupons Scout may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.
Looking for Chargie alternatives and competitors? Chargie is a USB charge limiter that stops charging at the level you set, such as 80%, on phones, tablets and laptops. We compared it with AlDente, a MacBook app, and two smart plugs, the Shelly Plug US Gen4 and the TP-Link Kasa KP125M, on how they limit charging, which devices they cover, prices and setup, using each brand’s own pages in October 2026. For current Chargie offers, see our Chargie coupon page.
Quick Answer
For most people, Chargie is the best all-round pick: it reads the battery level through its app and physically stops charging at your limit on phones, tablets and USB-C laptops, from $29.99. Choose AlDente if you only need a limit on a MacBook, or a Shelly or Kasa smart plug if you want scheduled charging inside a smart home setup.
Best for: Chargie suits overnight chargers and people who keep phones or laptops plugged in for long periods.
Key Takeaways
- The main Chargie alternatives in 2026 are AlDente for MacBooks and smart plugs such as the Shelly Plug US Gen4 and the TP-Link Kasa KP125M.
- As of October 2026, Chargie lists the A Gold Edition at $29.99, the C Basic at $34.99 and Chargie for Laptops at $49.99, and its app reads the battery level to stop charging at your limit.
- AlDente is MacBook software with a free version and a Pro version, and AlDente Pro is also part of Setapp at $9.99 a month as of October 2026.
- The Shelly Plug US Gen4 and Kasa KP125M are rated at 15 A, 1800 W and switch a charger on and off by schedule; the pages we read do not mention reading battery percentage.
- Chargie ships from China in 7 to 14 business days to the US with duties included, and it states a 30-day money-back policy.
- We rate Chargie 4.4 out of 5, AlDente 4.2, Shelly Plug US Gen4 4.0 and Kasa KP125M 3.9 based on our October 2026 research of each brand’s pages.
Chargie Alternatives and Competitors at a Glance
| Option | Type | Devices | Price | Our score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chargie | USB hardware limiter plus app | Phones, tablets, USB-C laptops | From $29.99 | 4.4/5 |
| AlDente | Mac software | MacBooks | Free; Pro by region; Setapp $9.99/month | 4.2/5 |
| Shelly Plug US Gen4 | Smart plug | Any charger (on and off) | Not shown on product page | 4.0/5 |
| TP-Link Kasa KP125M | Smart plug | Any charger (on and off) | Not shown on brand page | 3.9/5 |
From each brand’s pages, October 28, 2026. US dollars.
Winners by Category
- Best overall: Chargie, which reads the battery level through its app and covers phones, tablets and laptops.
- Best for MacBooks: AlDente, with a free version and no hardware to buy.
- Best for smart home tinkerers: Shelly Plug US Gen4, with local scripts and power metering.
- Best simple scheduled plug: Kasa KP125M, with Matter setup and energy monitoring.
What to Look for in a Chargie Alternative
Does It Know Your Battery Level?
This is the main difference. Chargie’s app reads the battery percentage and tells the hardware when to stop and restart. AlDente does the same inside macOS. The Shelly and Kasa pages we read describe schedules and power monitoring, not battery reading, so a smart plug stops charging at a time you choose unless you build your own automation.
Which Devices Do You Want to Protect?
Chargie covers iPhone and iPad, Android phones and tablets, and USB-C laptops up to 100W. AlDente covers MacBooks only, from 2013 Intel models and 2020 Apple silicon models. Smart plugs work with any charger you plug into them, but they control the whole outlet.
How Much Setup Are You Comfortable With?
Chargie needs a model that matches your charger port and a free app paired over Bluetooth. AlDente is a download. Smart plugs need Wi-Fi, an app such as Kasa Smart or Apple Home, and schedules or scripts.
Feature Comparison
| Feature | Chargie | AlDente | Shelly Plug US Gen4 | Kasa KP125M |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Limit by battery percentage | Yes, via app | Yes, on MacBooks | Not stated on pages we read | Not stated on pages we read |
| Schedules | Smart Scheduler (wake-up time) | Scheduling | Yes, stored on device | Yes |
| Works with app closed | Hardware Limiter on supported models | Not stated on pages we read | Local schedules | Not stated on pages we read |
| Phones and tablets | Yes | No | Any charger (on and off) | Any charger (on and off) |
| Laptops | USB-C up to 100W | MacBooks | Any charger (on and off) | Any charger (on and off) |
| Energy or power monitoring | Not stated on pages we read | Not stated on pages we read | Power metering | Energy monitoring |
| Smart home platforms | Not stated on pages we read | Apple Shortcuts | Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home | Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home (Matter) |
From each brand’s homepage, product, pricing and documentation pages, October 28, 2026.
Price Comparison: Who Offers the Better Deal?
Chargie is the only option here with clear US prices on its own shop, from $29.99 per unit, with lower prices in packs. AlDente has a free version, and Setapp includes AlDente Pro for $9.99 a month. The Shelly and Kasa pages we read did not show prices.
| Chargie product | Price | Regular price | Flock Pack price per unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| A Gold Edition (USB-A) | $29.99 | $40.00 | $27.59 |
| C Basic (USB-C) | $34.99 | $40.00 | $32.19 |
| Chargie for Laptops (100W) | $49.99 | $69.99 | $45.99 |
| Ultimate Battery Guardian Bundle | $136.99 | $176.94 | Not applicable |
From Chargie’s shop, October 28, 2026, in US dollars before tax.
To pay less at Chargie, buy a Double, Family or Flock pack if you protect several devices, and check our Chargie coupon page for current codes before checkout.
Chargie vs Each Competitor: Head-to-Head
Chargie vs AlDente: Which Is Better for a MacBook?
For a MacBook alone, AlDente is the simpler start: it is software with a free version, Heat Protection and Sailing Mode. Chargie is better if you also want to protect phones, tablets or Windows laptops, since one brand covers all of them and the Hardware Limiter can work with the app closed.
Chargie vs a Smart Plug: Which Stops at 80%?
Chargie is designed to stop at a percentage you set, such as 80%, because its app reads the battery level. The Shelly and Kasa pages we read describe schedules, scripts and power monitoring, so they switch a charger off at a set time rather than at a battery level.
Shelly vs Kasa: Which Smart Plug Suits Chargers?
Both are rated at 15 A, 1800 W and work with Apple Home, Alexa and Google Home. Shelly adds local scripts and Zigbee; Kasa keeps it simple with schedules and energy monitoring.
Chargie: Best Overall Hardware Limiter for Phones and Laptops
Best for: people who want a set charge limit on phones, tablets and USB-C laptops from one device type · Starting price: A Gold Edition $29.99; C Basic $34.99; Chargie for Laptops $49.99 (sale prices) · Our score: 4.4/5
Chargie is a USB device that sits between your charger and your device. According to its homepage, it “physically stops charging and restarts when needed,” using a free app that reads the battery level and talks to the hardware over Bluetooth. Models cover USB-A phones, USB-C phones up to 10W and USB-C laptops up to 100W, and a Hardware Limiter on supported models works with the app closed.
As of October 2026, the shop lists the A Gold Edition at $29.99 (regular $40.00), the C Basic at $34.99 and Chargie for Laptops at $49.99 (regular $69.99), with multi-pack savings. Orders ship from China with duties included, in 7 to 14 business days to the US, and Chargie states a 30-day money-back policy. Read our full Chargie review.
✅ What We Like
- Reads the battery percentage through its app
- Covers iPhone, Android and USB-C laptops
- Hardware Limiter works with the app closed
- Smart Scheduler for overnight charging
- 30-day money-back policy
💡 Things to Consider
- Ships from China; 7 to 14 business days to the US
- Buyer pays return shipping unless faulty
AlDente: Best Software Option for MacBooks
Best for: MacBook owners who want a charge limit without extra hardware · Starting price: Free version; Pro plans on the pricing page; also in Setapp at $9.99/month · Our score: 4.2/5
AlDente is a battery care app for MacBooks. Its homepage says a charge limit lets the battery spend less time fully charged, and that keeping it roughly between 20% and 80% can help extend its lifespan. Features include Heat Protection, Sailing Mode, Calibration Mode, scheduling and Apple Shortcuts support. The brand says it has 700,000+ users.
AlDente has a free download and a Pro version with yearly or lifetime licenses; its pricing page showed euro prices in our region, so check it for your local price. AlDente Pro is also part of Setapp at $9.99 a month. Each Pro license key works on up to three macOS user accounts, and it supports Apple silicon MacBooks from 2020 and Intel MacBooks from 2013 on macOS 12 or later.
✅ What We Like
- No hardware to buy or wait for
- Free version available
- Heat Protection and Sailing Mode
- One Pro license for up to three accounts
💡 Things to Consider
- MacBooks only; no phone support
- Pro price shown by region
Shelly Plug US Gen4: Best Smart Plug for Local Scripts and Automation
Best for: smart home users who want scripts, schedules and power metering on any charger · Starting price: See the Shelly US store (price not shown on the product page) · Our score: 4.0/5
Shelly Plug US Gen4 is a smart plug rated up to 15 A (1800 W for resistive loads). Shelly’s documentation lists power metering, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and Zigbee, Matter certification, overpower protection and scripts for local automation, with schedules stored on the device. It works with Apple Home and Siri, Amazon Alexa and Google Home.
The Shelly US store offers free US shipping on orders over $50.00; the product page we read did not show the plug’s price. Like other smart plugs, it switches the charger on and off, and the pages we read do not mention reading a device’s battery level.
✅ What We Like
- Scripts and schedules stored on the device
- Power metering and overpower protection
- Works with Apple Home, Alexa and Google Home
- Free US shipping over $50.00
💡 Things to Consider
- No battery-percentage reading on its own
- Price not shown on the product page
TP-Link Kasa KP125M: Best Simple Smart Plug for Scheduled Charging
Best for: people who want a simple scheduled on and off for a charger, with energy monitoring · Starting price: Sold in 2-packs and 4-packs (price not shown on the brand’s page) · Our score: 3.9/5
The Kasa Smart Wi-Fi Plug Slim with Energy Monitoring (KP125M) is “Matter Certified” and can be set up in the Alexa, Google Home or Apple Home apps, with voice control through Alexa, Google Assistant and Siri. It is rated at 15 A, 1800 W, and it tracks real-time and historical power use in the Kasa Smart app.
Kasa says you can preset a schedule to manage devices automatically, while an Auto-Off Timer is still in development. The brand’s page links to 2-pack and 4-pack listings instead of showing a price.
✅ What We Like
- Matter setup in Apple Home, Alexa or Google Home
- Energy monitoring in the Kasa app
- Simple schedules for chargers
💡 Things to Consider
- No battery-percentage control on its own
- Auto-Off Timer still in development
Which One Should You Choose?
- Choose Chargie if you want charging to stop at a set battery level on phones, tablets or USB-C laptops.
- Choose AlDente if you only need a charge limit on a MacBook and prefer software.
- Choose Shelly Plug US Gen4 if you like local scripts and want power metering on any charger.
- Choose Kasa KP125M if you want a simple scheduled plug with Matter setup and energy monitoring.
Still deciding? Read our Chargie review and our shopping guides.
How We Compared These Charge Limiting Options
We read each brand’s homepage, shop or product pages, pricing, shipping and documentation pages on October 28, 2026, and compared how each limits charging, devices covered, prices and setup. Scores reflect that research, not product use. No company paid for its position or reviewed this article.
Frequently Asked Questions
What are the best Chargie alternatives?
The main Chargie alternatives in 2026 are AlDente for MacBooks and smart plugs such as the Shelly Plug US Gen4 and the TP-Link Kasa KP125M. AlDente is software, while the smart plugs switch a charger on and off by schedule.
Is Chargie or AlDente better?
AlDente suits MacBook owners who want free software with a charge limit. Chargie suits people who also want to protect phones, tablets or USB-C laptops, with models from $29.99 as of October 2026.
Can a smart plug replace Chargie?
Partly. Smart plugs like the Kasa KP125M and Shelly Plug US Gen4 can switch a charger off on a schedule, but the pages we read do not mention reading battery percentage. Chargie’s app reads the battery level and stops at your set limit.
How much does Chargie cost compared with alternatives?
As of October 2026, Chargie costs $29.99 to $49.99 per unit before tax. AlDente has a free version and is in Setapp at $9.99 a month, while the Shelly and Kasa pages we read did not show prices.
Does Chargie work on Windows laptops?
Yes. Chargie for Laptops supports USB-C Power Delivery laptops up to 100W, with app controls on Mac and Windows, according to Chargie’s homepage. AlDente works on MacBooks only.
Are there Chargie promo codes?
Check our Chargie coupon page for current codes and offers before you order.
Comparing more stores in this category? See Top Computers, Peripherals, and Tech Gadgets for Work and Play.
About the author: Mohamed Zaki, Founder & Chief MarTech Strategist, Coupons Scout. Mohamed Zaki is the founder of Coupons Scout and leads how the team finds deals and researches the software behind them. He focuses on marketing technology, automation tools and ways to pay less for them.
Editorial note: this article is based on research of brand product pages, help centers and policies, last checked October 28, 2026. Scores are our editorial opinion. Coupons Scout may earn a commission from some links, which never changes our rankings.
Sources
Brand pages we used for this article, checked October 28, 2026. Prices and plans can change, so confirm on the brand’s own website before you buy.
